A Writer, Blogger, Reader Journal, All About Movies, Discussions

Can You Be Hooked By A Podcast?

Bloggers in the movie review world love to talk about their podcasts. I never gave much thought to what that entailed, nor was I curious to search them out myself. I felt myself suitably busy with a couple blogs, my writing and all the media that I take in every week. That all changed in February! Can you be hooked by a podcast?

My podcast awakening is all due to movie blogger and podcaster, Ryan, over at The Matinee. Last year I was introduced to his blog and decided to join his yearly blogathon, The Blindspot Series. I loved the idea to look back and watch movies I’d missed the first time around, some simply because I hadn’t been born yet. It’s fun to watch a movie and search out how it relates to my perspective as a writer as you can read in my January and February posts. At the end of the month it’s fun to read about the blindspots other participating bloggers watched to fill in their own film knowledge.

Podcast 107 Header

So needless-to-say I was shocked and honored to be asked to participate in Ryan’s 107th podcast where he covers the Blindspot series. He nicely explained what a podcast was (all voice and music, no video) and directed me to where I could listen to a few (he has breached his 100th cast!) If you have a smart phone you can download an app and it makes listening and finding the podcasts very easy. (Yes, yes, I am behind the technological times a bit. This was an excellent learning experience though and a grand reason to wade into the world of podcasts. I’m grateful for the experience and found it a lot of fun.)

I was in fact, one of three female bloggers (there are three males as well) who participated and the only one from the United States. I listened to the cast this morning and it was really great to hear everyone’s experience with their February movies. Ryan has an easy and comfortable style, more a conversation with a few directed questions than an interview. It makes for easy listening with unexpected conversational directions and tangents — all about movies. Yay!

The runtime can seem daunting, at least it was to me when I first downloaded one: 87 minutes. It goes really fast though, I loved coupling it with exercise. Here’s a rundown of the participants, their times (there I am at minute 54) and their sites:

1. Introduction
2. Mette Kowalski discusses MEMENTO (2:03)
3. Shantanu Ghumare – HOW GREEN WAS MY VALLEY (15:07)
4. Getter Trumsi discusses THE PRINCESS BRIDE (29:13)
5. Jay Cluitt – THE ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW (41:28)
6. Dani Eide (ME!) discusses MY LIFE AS A DOG (54:01)
7. Amir Soltani discusses CLEO FROM 5 TO 7 (66:23)

Give it a listen, you’ll be hooked, I know I was.

(If you want to skip around the podcast be patient, it takes a few moments for the player to catch up.)

You can also subscribe to the Matineecast via iTunes.


Do you listen to podcasts? What are your favorite ones? Can you be hooked by a podcast?

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

2 thoughts on “Can You Be Hooked By A Podcast?”

  1. Woah – my show is on Soundcloud? I’m not sure I knew that! Thanks again for joining me – definitely hope to get you on for a full episode before the year is out.

    1. Umm yeah you are. WordPress wouldn’t let me add your embed code so I got around it! I don’t let the internet tell me what I can and cannot do. I felt like it would be a big miss not to give readers access.

      It was fun I’d definitely do it again!

Let's talk in the comments...

